Bee Folks Kosher Statement
WE ARE KOSHER CERTIFIED BY STAR-K AS OF 3/4/2009.
All of our honeys (including Honey Sticks) and Honey Candy are kosher certified! You can click on the links in the left-hand column of this page to see what varietal honeys are available.
Some customers have asked us how honey can be kosher, when it comes from a non-kosher species. The following is a summary of an article by Rabbi Dovid Heber, Star-K Kashrus Adminstrator, entitled, "To Bee or Not to Bee: A Kashrus Guide To Honey and Other Bee Products" (follow link for original article):
|Honey||Kosher||It is not a secretion of the bee. Instead, honey is kosher nectar, eaten and transformed by the bee into honey. The bee simply acts as a facilitator, and the nectar maintains kosher status throughout the transformation. THIS APPLIES ONLY TO 100% PURE HONEY.|
|Propolis||Kosher||It is not a secretion of the bee. It is material collected from the sap of a tree, carried in the mouth of the bee. HOWEVER, IF PROCESSED BY ALCOHOL, REQUIRES CERTIFICATION.|
|Bee Pollen||Kosher||It collected in pollen sacks on the legs of bees, and is not a product of the bee itself.|
|Royal Jelly||non-Kosher||It is a secretion of the bee, created to provide extra nutrients for bees that will become Queen Bees.|
|Bee Venom||non-Kosher||It is secreted in the venom glands of the bees.|
|Beeswax||Kosher||Although it is secreted by the bee, the body does not process it as food.|